

Staff Report to Council

Title: Review of Council Members on Committees and Boards

Report Number: Legislative Services-2025-01

Director: Corporate Services

Manager: Legislative Services

Meeting Date: Wednesday, January 22, 2025 Date to be considered by Council: Wednesday, January 22, 2025

Recommendation:

That Council review and appoint or confirm the Council appointments for committees and boards at the February 12, 2025, meeting.

Executive Summary:

At the meeting of September 25, 2024, Council appointed members to fill the vacancies on three committees/boards after the passing of Councillor Kennedy: Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit Board, Bruce Area Solid Waste Recycling (BASWR) and the Community Investment Grant Review Team. These appointments were temporary until the Ward 1 vacancy was filled and a review completed.Council can now review the Council appointments to committees and boards and determine if changes are required.

Strategic Priorities:

N/A

Financial Considerations:

A Member's compensation is determined through the Council Remuneration & Expense Policy and has been included in the operating budget. There are no Municipal financial implications to these appointments.

Policy:

Council Committee appointment (2023) By-law 2022-187 as amended

Context and Background Information:

Council appoints members to represent them on 14 different boards/committees. The initial appointments were made in 2022, and a few changes have been made since that time. In

September 2024, members were appointed temporarily to fill the three vacant positions left by the passing of Councillor Kennedy.

Council requested that once the vacancy for Ward 1 was filled, that these appointments be re-evaluated.

The current appointments are as follows:

Accessibility Advisory Committee	Andrea Clarke
Bruce Area Solid Waste Recycling (BASWR)	Jennifer Prenger
Business Improvement Area (BIA)	Mike Hinchberger
Community Investment Grant Review Team	Andreas Clarke, Amanda Steinhoff-Gray, and Rory Cavanagh
Community Safety & Well Being Advisory	Beth Blackwell
Heritage Kincardine	Mike Hinchberger
South Bruce OPP Detachment Board	Rory Cavanagh
South Bruce OPP Detachment Board Community Appointee Advisory Committee Rory Cavanagh	
Legacy Fund Advisory Committee	Kenneth Craig
Property Standards Committee	Kenneth Craig, Bill Stewart & Mike Hinchberger
Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit	Mike Hinchberger
Saugeen Valley Conservation (SVCA)	Bill Stewart, Jennifer Prenger
Striking Committee	Kennth Craig, Andrea Clarke, Beth Blackwell, and Amanda Steinhoff-Gray
Westario Power	Mike Hinchberger
Consultation Overview:	

N/A

Origin:

Temporary appointment of members to various committees at the September 25, 2024, meeting.

Implementation Considerations:

Once appointments have been made, the required board/committee secretary will be provided with the Member's name and contact information. The board/committee will provide the Member with the required training and background information to begin their term on the board.

Risk Analysis:

There are several important matters being considered on all the various boards/committees. For the Boards specifically, without representation, the Municipality will not have an opportunity to provide input into these matters.

Attachments:	None
Prepared by:	Jennifer Lawrie, Manager of Legislative Services/Clerk
Submitted by:	Jennifer Lawrie, Manager of Legislative Services/Clerk