

October 24, 2024

Hon. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Sent via email: premier@ontario.ca

Dear Premier Ford,

## **RE:** Municipal Support Resolution for CANDU Reactors

Bruce County Council recognizes the important role that the nuclear sector plays in the economy of both our County and the Province at large. We are proud to play an integral role in providing a clean, efficient source of energy to power homes and communities across Ontario.

At the October 17, 2024 Council approved the following resolution:

## **Resolution # C-2024-163**

Moved byWarden Chris PeabodySeconded byDeputy Warden Luke Charbonneau

WHEREAS CANDU nuclear reactors have provided decades of reliable, safe, and clean energy, contributing significantly to Ontario's energy grid while reducing greenhouse gas emissions; and

WHEREAS CANDU is the only commercial reactor to produce medical isotopes, stabilizing the worlds supply for much needed life saving isotopes; and

WHEREAS the continued operation and investment in CANDU reactors represent a critical pillar of Ontario's energy strategy, ensuring a stable, lowcarbon source of electricity to meet both current and future energy demands; and

WHEREAS Bruce County is home to the largest operating CANDU facility in Canada, which generates significant economic benefits

through employment, supplier contracts, and infrastructure development; and

WHEREAS CANDU technology, developed in Canada, remains a leading example of national innovation, energy independence, use of Canadian uranium, and the potential for global export of expertise and technology; and

WHEREAS the long-term operation of the CANDU fleet in Bruce County aligns with Ontario's commitment to a clean energy future and further supports economic resilience through the province's investments in energy innovation and infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, to date, NWMO has largely built their assumptions around storing existing spent nuclear fuel from CANDU reactors that utilize natural uranium as their nuclear fuel;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Bruce County Council formally recognize the strategic importance of the CANDU nuclear reactors as a cornerstone of Ontario's energy strategy, contributing to energy security and economic development; and

That Bruce County Council express its support for the continued operation, refurbishment, and expansion of the CANDU fleet in Bruce County and across Ontario; and

That this resolution be circulated to all local municipalities within Bruce County, neighbouring counties, the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Energy, the Minister of Rural Affairs and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry and the Prime Minister and the Federal Minister of Natural Resources for their consideration and support.

## Carried

We request that you consider the above resolution with respect to Bruce County's support for the continued operation, refurbishment, and expansion of the CANDU fleet in Bruce County and across the Province when making decisions regarding Ontario's future energy infrastructure projects.

Regards,



Chris Peabody Warden CC. Hon. Stephen Lecce, MPP, Minister of Energy & Electrification MinisterEnergy@ontario.ca Hon. Lisa Thompson, MPP, Minister of Rural Affairs minister.mra@ontario.ca Hon. Graydon Smith, MPP, Minister of Natural Resources minister.mnrf@ontario.ca Hon. Vic Fidelli, MPP, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade medict.minister@ontario.ca Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada pm@pm.gc.ca Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson, MP, Minister of Energy & Natural Resources Jonathon.wilkinson@parl.gc.ca Hon. Franscois-Phillippe Champagne, MP, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry ministerofisi-ministredeisi@ised-isde.gc.ca Hon. Mary Ng, MP, Minister of Export Promotion, International Trade and Economic Development mary.ng@parl.gc.ca Hon. Filomena Tassi, MP, Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario Filomena.tassi@parl.gc.ca Local Municipal Councils in Bruce County: Municipality of South Bruce, Vivian Kennedy, Manager of

Legislative Services/Clerk: vkennedy@southbruce.ca Municipality of Brockton, Fiona Hamilton, Director of Legislative and Legal Services (Clerk): fhamilton@bruckton.ca Township or Huron-Kinloss, Jennifer White, Manager of Legislative Services/Clerk: jwhite@huronkinloss.com Township of Arran-Elderslie, Christine Fraser-McDonald, Clerk: cfraser@arran-elderslie.ca Town of South Bruce Peninsula, Angie Cathrae, Director of Legislative Services/Clerk: angie.cathrae@southbrucepeninsula.com Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula, Cathy Addison, Municipal Clerk: caddison@northernbruce.ca Town of Saugeen Shores, Dawn Mittelholtz, Clerk, dawn.mittelholtz@saugeenshores.ca Municipality of Kincardine, Jennifer Lawrie, Manager of Legislative Services/Clerk: jlawrie@kincardine.ca

Grey County Council, Tara Warder, Clerk: <u>tara.warder@grey.ca</u> Huron County Council, Susan Cronin, Director Legislative Services & County Clerk: <u>scronin@huroncounty.ca</u>