



October 11, 2024

Sent via email: premier@ontario.ca

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Premier's Office, Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

## RE: Opposition to the Transportation and Deposition of Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM) and Mine Tailings from the Former Beaucage Mine and Waste Site

On behalf of the Councils of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin, we are formally submitting the attached joint resolution regarding our serious concerns over the proposed transportation and deposition of radioactive naturally occurring materials (NORM) to the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area (ALTMA).

Our Councils recently convened a Joint Emergency Meeting on October 2, 2024, to discuss this matter in response to information presented at a Town Hall Meeting on September 11, 2024, by the Ministry of Mines, the Ministry of Transportation, and the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. During our deliberations, it became evident that the materials slated for transport are not correctly categorized as NORM, but rather as mine tailings containing not only radioactive substances like niobium and uranium but also other hazardous heavy metals.

We are gravely concerned about the potential environmental and health impacts this project may have, particularly on Agnew Lake—a critical drinking water source for our communities. Our position is that ALTMA should be remediated using clean materials to mitigate existing contamination rather than accepting additional hazardous materials that could exacerbate environmental harm.

This joint resolution calls upon your government and relevant ministries to halt any further actions related to the transportation of this hazardous product to the ALTMA site. The resolution reads as follows:

RESOLUTION # 2024-EM2-12 DATED: October 2, 2024 MOVED BY: Vern Gorham SECONDED BY: Jason Cote

**WHEREAS** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation the Township of Baldwin convened a Joint Emergency Meeting on Wednesday, October 2, 2024 to discuss the proposed plan to transport and deposit radioactive naturally occurring materials (NORM) at the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area (ALTMA); and

**WHEREAS** the Councils reviewed information received from the Ministry of Mines, the Ministry of Transportation and the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission regarding this proposed plan at the Town Hall Meeting dated September 11, 2024; and

**WHEREAS** the Councils strongly agree that the materials that are planned to be deposited are not correctly defined as naturally occurring radioactive materials but rather mine tailings that contain not only the radioactive substance Niobium and uranium but also contain heavy metals that pose significant environmental and health risks; and

**WHEREAS** there are significant concerns regarding the potential contamination of drinking water sources, particularly Agnew Lake, which many residents rely on for safe drinking water; and

WHEREAS the Councils agree that the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area (ALTMA) needs to be remediated using clean materials to mitigate the existing environmental impacts, rather than being used for the deposition of additional hazardous materials; and

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin formally oppose the transportation and deposition of these materials from the former Beaucage Mine and Waste Site, Nipissing First Nations lands and adjacent lands operated by the Ministry of Transportation to the Agnew Lake Tailings Management Area; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Baldwin respectfully demand that the Province of Ontario, the Ministry of Mines, the Ministry of Transportation, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission provide answers to our questions and that the municipalities receive notification of all forward movements of this project; and

**THAT** a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; the Honourable George Pirie, the Minister of Mines; the Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, the Minister of Transportation; the Honourable Andrea Khanjin, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks; Chief Toulouse and Sagamok Anishnawbek Council Members; Chief Nootchtai and Atikameksheng Anishnawbek Council Members; Chief Rodney Nahwegahbow and the Whitefish River First Nation Council Members; Chief Patsy Corbiere and the Aundeck Omni Kaning First Nation Council Members; the United Chiefs and Council of Mnidoo Mnising; Ontario Ombudsman; the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission; the Canadian Environmental Law Association; MP Carol Hughes; MPP Michael Mantha; the Association of Ontario Municipalities and all Ontario Municipalities.

## CARRIED

We respectfully request your immediate attention to this matter and urge the Province of Ontario to prioritize the protection of our community's health, safety, and environmental integrity.

For more information regarding this matter, please contact our municipal office by email at <u>belindaketchabaw@nairncentre.ca</u> or by phone at (705) 869-4232.

Yours truly,

Belinda Ketchabaw CAO Clerk Treasurer Township of Nairn and Hyman

Cc:

Honourable George Pirie, the Minister of Mines Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, the Minister of Transportation Honourable Andrea Khanjin, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks Chief Toulouse and the Sagamok Anishnawbek Council Members Chief Nootchtai and the Atikameksheng Anishnawbek Council Members Chief Rodney Nahwegahbow and the Whitefish River First Nation Council Members Chief Patsy Corbiere and the Aundeck Omni Kaning First Nation Council Members The United Chiefs and Council of Mnidoo Mnising Ontario Ombudsman Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Canadian Environmental Law Association MP Carol Hughes MPP Michael Mantha Association of Ontario Municipalities All Ontario Municipalities