

Clerks and Bylaw

June 21, 2023

The Honorable Caroline Mulroney Ontario Minister of Transportation 777 Bay Street 5th Floor Toronto, ON M7A 1Z8 minister@mto.ontario.ca

Dear Minister,

Please be advised that at the Council Meeting held on June 20th, 2023, Council endorsed the following resolution:

Whereas speeding on our roads is a major concern in our community; and

Whereas speeding can occur in all areas of our community; and

Whereas barriers and delays to enforcement pose a danger to our community; and

Whereas our municipality has limited resources to implement speed mitigation road design and re-design; and

Whereas our local police service has limited resources to undertake speed enforcement; and

Whereas s.205.1 of the Highway Traffic Act (HTA) provides that Automated Speed Enforcement systems (ASE) may only be placed in designated community safety zones and school safety zones;

Therefore be it resolved that Norfolk County requests that section 205.1 of the HTA be amended to permit municipalities to locate an ASE system permanently, or temporarily, on any roadway under the jurisdiction of the municipality, as determined by the municipality, beyond designated community and school safety zones; and

That a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Ontario Minister of Transportation, the Ontario Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, local area MPPs, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and all Ontario Municipalities.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

Genevieve Scharback

County Clerk

Cc: The Honorable Steve Clark, Minister or Municipal Affairs and Housing

Mrs. Bobbi Ann Brady, MPP Haldimand-Norfolk

Association of Municipalities of Ontario

Ontario Municipalities